Citation

There are two (2) choices once you receive an environmental citation. Regardless of which you choose, you must correct the violation.

A. Pay the Fine, for this choice:

  1. You must fix or clear up the violation, and
  2. Pay the fine. You have three options to pay:
    1. Mail Copy of Citation along with Check Or Money Order (please do not mail cash) Made Payable To:
      Director of Finance
      200 N. Holliday Street
      Baltimore, Maryland 21202
    2. Pay in Person at:
      200 N. Holliday Street, Abel Wolman Municipal Building
    3. Pay online at http://cityservices.baltimorecity.gov/ecb
      Please follow the instructions after you follow the link. 
      or

B. Contest the Fine, for this choice you must;

  1. You must fix or clear up the violation, and
  2. Requesting a hearing:
    1. if you have a citation in a ticket format, Check the box on the back of the ticketrequesting a hearing and sign on the line next to the box; or
    2. If you have a paper citation, look for the page that says “Request on a Hearing” it is in bold letters, scroll down to the middle of the page and check the box for requesting a hearing, sign next to the box and mail it in on the paper citation; or
    3. Online hearing request: you may go directly to http://cityservices.baltimorecity.gov/ECBHearing;
    4. If you wish to request the officer’s presence at the hearing, check this box and sign on the line next to it;
    5. Mail the signed citation back to the ECB;
  3. You will receive a notice of hearing from the ECB with the date and time of your hearing. Hearings are held in suite 100 of the Court Square Building at 200 E. Lexington Street. Your assigned hearing time will be indicated on the notice.
  4. Appear at the hearing on your assigned date and time. Please be on time.


Important Information About Your Hearing

  1. You have the right to be represented by an attorney at your hearing, or an authorized person with a notarized letter may represent you at your hearing.
  2. You have the right to present witnesses and documents at the hearing.
  3. Your failure to appear will result in a Default Judgment being entered against you. The board shall impose a civil penalty of three (3) times the amount of the prepayable fine, subject to a maximum of $1,000.
  4. No postponements will be granted unless good cause is shown, in writing, to the Environmental Control Board, at least five (5) days prior to the hearing date. The written request for postponement, if granted, will serve to waive your right to a hearing (or decision) within the legal time limits specified in the Baltimore City Code. Postponement requests should be mailed to the ECB at 200 E. Lexington Street, Suite 100, Baltimore, Maryland 21202 or emailed to [email protected]
  5. You are either required to show either a Maryland driver’s license or photo identification in order to enter the Benton Building.
  6. Payment is due on the day of the hearing.


After the Hearing

  • The Hearing Officer may uphold the citation, cancel the citation, change or eliminate the fine.
  • If the Hearing Officer upholds the citation, you will be required to pay the fine on the day of the hearing. Ensure you bring your payment to the hearing!
  • You have the right to appeal the Hearing Officer's decision to the Environmental Control Board (ECB). If you decide to appeal, you must do so in writing within 30 days after receiving the Hearing Officer’s decision. All fines and fees must be paid within 30 days from the Hearing Officer's decision for the appeal to be processed and heard. ECB will consider the record from the hearing– there will not be an additional hearing or new evidence for this appeal.
  • Full board decisions on an appeal may be appealed to the Circuit Court of Baltimore City.